The DUFF – Film Review

Duration: 1 hr 41 mins

Rating: 12A

Release Date(UK): 6 April 2015

Genre: Comedy, romance

Director: Ari Sandel

Cast: Mae Whitman, Robbie Amell, Bella Thorne, Bianca A. Santos, Skyler Samuels, Romany Malco…

Description: Designated Ugly Fat Friend AKA DUFF is what Bianca has been labelled by almost everyone in her school. Bianca refuses to be called this and goes to many lengths to try to prove she’s not a DUFF but eventually she realises that really, everyone is somebody’s DUFF.

My Thoughts: So, I watched this film on Christmas Day with someone as they had received it as a present.

At first it was kind of dull and boring and I didn’t really care or have any interest in what was going on, I feel like it took quite a long time to actually get going. But by about half way through I actually started enjoying it, it was funny and silly and stupid yes, but enjoyable.

Obviously there were some cons to this film. It was really predictable and I guessed everything that was going to happen.

It was kind of depressing thinking of people as DUFF’s, I don’t really want to be someone’s DUFF, I don’t want anyone to be anyone’s DUFF.

I hate how in teen romance dramas being unfriended or unfollowed on social networking sites is like the worst thing a friend can do to you, like you have an argument and then go and unfriend them on Facebook and this is like the most awful, most shocking thing anyone can imagine.

Another thing I hate is how in films things can just go viral really fast and all that needs to happen is a couple of students in a school need to e-mail it to people, it’s so stupid.

It was also a lot like Easy A starring Emma Stone which is an absolutely amazing and incredible film that I really think you should consider watching! Anyway, I feel like the storyline of this film was a lot like that in some ways; A girl gets labelled something by her society, and then makes quite a few mistakes and tries to fix them whilst also being the constant talk of the school and having people say bad things about her on social media. I feel like it was disappointing that it was a lot like Easy A, it felt almost like a remake or something.

I thought the actors were very good. I particularly liked Robbie Amell who I have seen in The Tomorrow People I thought he was much better at being an easier going, funny, guy-next-door than being a really serious supernatural person like he is in The Tomorrow People. Another performance I was impressed with was Bella Thorne’s, I saw her in Shake It Up (Disney) years and years ago where she played a kind of dumb stupid character and I much preferred her as the evil queen bee of the school that wanted the guy. I thought she did a really good job. And of course Mae Whitman who managed to do the most funniest things without bursting out laughing, I wonder how many takes it must have been to film that scene in the mall…

I feel like The DUFF had a really strong message about society, especially in the 21st Century when everything is posted on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram etc. and nobody really thinks about who can read or see the things they post and not really thinking about how important privacy can be at times and also about social statuses, how what you do effects how people view you and the same with what you say and whether you like it or not people are going to label you, maybe not always in a way you would like but that’s just how society works. That’s just how some people organise other people in their brain’s and that can sometimes be how they decide who to hang out with. Anyway, I really liked the message this film was showing.

Great song choice for the ending credits; Somebody To You by The Vamps.

4/5 stars.

This is an easy going, uncomplicated film that doesn’t need that much attention but is also entertaining and funny.

If you would like to share you thoughts on the film please write them in the comments section or even better post a link to your own review (If you have one.)

Warnings: Alcohol consumption, sexual references, swearing, sexual scenes, some scenes of violence. For full details click the link to the IMDb parental guide: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1666801/parentalguide?ref_=tt_stry_pg

 Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the film and cast click the link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1666801/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Other Information: The DUFF was originally a novel written by Kody Keplinger. There was also a companion novel called LOL: Lying Out Loud.

Leave a comment