Albatross – Film Review

Duration: 1hr 30min

Rating: 15

Release Date(UK): 14 October 2011 

Genre: Drama

Director: Niall MacCormick

Cast: Jessica Brown Findlay, Felicity Jones, Sebastian Koch, Julia Ormond, Katie Overd, Peter Vaughan…

Description: Emelia is a troubled young woman who tries to remain positive, Beth is a study nerd working hard to get into Oxford. When Emelia starts working for Beth’s parents in their hotel, they quickly become friends but they live in separate worlds. Will Emelia’s influence affect Beth’s future? And will the secrets she keeps destroy their relationship?

My Thoughts: I’ve watched this film twice now. The first time I didn’t expect all that much from it, but it seemed non-complicated, easy to watch and a feel good film with no unexpected surprises but as the film went on I realised that actually it was a really great film with really relatable characters and talented actors. The second time I watched it, it was because I had enjoyed it so much the first time that I really wanted to watch it again. Unfortunately it has now gone off Netflix so I haven’t been able to watch it a third time.

There were some really unnecessary and weird moments that slightly affected the quality of the film but I could get passed them because the great moments truly were great. It was also really funny but could be really sad and serious at other times and it was a perfect balance of the two.

I really loved Emelia and Beth. Their characters are really relatable and I think they’re played really well and their relationship is really great and it’s just a great inspiring film about growing up and choosing your own path no matter what people think.

If you take apart the film bit by bit, scene by scene you realise that actually there isn’t a whole lot of a storyline but that doesn’t even matter because it’s just a feel good film about two people from completely different worlds that become friends and both step out of their comfort zones in ways they never could have expected. And strangely films and books about nothing more complicated than normal life are my favourites, because they don’t lie, they portray the real life and I think that’s the most valuable form of art.

This has now become one of my favourite films and I really suggest you go and watch it!

5/5 stars.

If you’ve seen this film please feel free to leave your thoughts about it (negative or positive) below! I would be really interest to know what you think!

Warnings: Swearing, drug taking, alcohol consumption, smoking, sex scenes, sex references and one scene of masturbation.

Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the film and cast please click the link – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1541149/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Advertisements

The Gift – Film Review

Duration: 1hr 48mins

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Horror

Rating: 15

Release Date(UK): 7 August 2015

Director: Joel Edgerton

Cast: Jason Bateman, Rebecca Hall, Joel Edgerton, Allison Tolman, Tim Griffin, Busy Phillips…

Description: 20 years is a long time, especially from childhood to adulthood but some people still hold you responsible, some people cannot let things go. When a childhood classmate from Simon’s past unexpectedly shows up the people closest to Simon are put in danger.

 My Thoughts: Like lots of the films I watch and review, I saw a trailer for this film when it was coming out in cinemas and thought it looked really good. When I noticed it was on Netflix I got really excited and watched it almost immediately!

It wasn’t entirely possible from the trailer to figure out what the film was about, but I felt like a third of the way through, half way though and two thirds through it was still impossible to know what it was about or be interested, because not going to lie, nothing happened in the film until the last fifteen minutes but what did happen was so completely confusing I had no idea what the purpose was at the end. But it seemed to be completely pointless by the end of the film, it seemed like literally nothing had happened and it was very frustrating as I thought it was going to be good.

I felt like it was really sexist, because at the start of the film Simon was really paranoid about his old classmate who had turned up in Simon and his wife’s life and his wife, Robyn, was telling him he was being paranoid and not to worry, and what happened at school is in the past and then Robyn starts getting paranoid and it’s almost like their roles are reversed and now Simon’s telling Robyn to stop being paranoid, but when Simon was paranoid it was supposed to be because he was worried about his family being hurt (so he was trying to ‘protect’ his ‘weak’ wife) but when Robyn gets paranoid it’s portrayed as if she’s being stupid and weak and over-reacting and I really, really disliked it.

I don’t feel like this film actually fits into any of the genres it’s put into, it isn’t a thriller there’s nothing thrilling about it. It isn’t a mystery – other than what it’s actually about. It isn’t scary so it couldn’t fit under horror… Is there a genre called ‘doesn’t make sense’ or ‘has no purpose’? Because the entire story was purposeless, impossible to get a storyline out of the film and all events that happened in the film turned out to be pointless.

I really wouldn’t suggest watching this film because it’s really disappointing and doesn’t make any sense, all the scenes are really boring and nothing meaningful happens.

1/5 stars.

If you have watched this film please leave your comments below on what you thought, and if it made sense to you! I would love to read what you thought!

Warnings: Please read the IMDb parental guide – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4178092/parentalguide?ref_=tt_stry_pg

Trailer: To see a trailer and read full details on the film and cast please click the link – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4178092/?ref_=nv_sr_5

The Vamps UK Arena Tour 2016 – Event Review

Date: 02 April 2016

Location: O2 Arena, London

Band: The Vamps

Touring Albums: Wake Up and Meet The Vamps

Support Acts: Hometown, Conor Maynard and The Tide.

Costs: Varied

Concert Length (Including support acts): 19:25 – 22:30

My Thoughts: Yesterday I read The Guardian’s review of The Vamps concert and have to say I was very displeased with what they said as I feel like they didn’t really give any proper comment on the music at all and definitely did not tell me what I would want to know if I were going to buy tickets for their next tour. Although I admit I’m coming to you as a fully dedicated Vampette and they probably weren’t but I still think their review could have been better than what it was. Anyway…

I saw The Vamps last May at the O2 Arena when they were on their UK Arena Tour 2015 and it was absolutely amazing and my tickets were really cheap! This time my tickets were quite a bit more expensive but it paid off because our seats were absolutely incredible! We were so close!

I have to admit the wait before the concert actually started got a bit tiresome as we got into the arena just after six and then had to wait for over an hour before anything actually happened but it did give as some selfie opportunities!

I’d never heard of Hometown and didn’t check them out before going to the concert, they were good but I felt they consisted of way too many people (six). They did sing a song which was said to have been written for them by Liam Payne from One Direction, it was actually a really good song! Whether it was actually written by Liam Payne I cannot say.

Next on was Conor Maynard who I was mildly excited about seeing as he sings this really great song R U Crazy? which he sang at the concert and it got everyone really excited (including me!). He also sang other songs which I believe to have been hit singles at some point but my knowledge on Conor Maynard is minimal. Sometimes he was a bit too quiet and you couldn’t really hear him but I’m not sure if that was because of the audience, the speakers/microphone or actually him himself…

The last support group to come on was The Tide who I had seen last year when they were supporting The Vamps and had left a mildly good impression but not as much as they could have done if they hadn’t made up some fictitious story through most of their set! So this year I was slightly weary to what they might actually do but luckily this time it was just singing! To finish their set they sang their new single Young Love which was a good song and really got you ready for The Vamps who were on next! So I was all pumped up and ready for The Vamps but then there was a twenty minute break while they prepared the stage and presumably they thought it was necessary to have a toilet break in the middle of the concert… so my mood went from concert mode to very annoyed in about ten seconds.

It was well worth the wait though as once The Vamps were on they brought the house down (not literally, the O2 is still standing, or it was when I wrote this!) they opened with Rest Your Love and from there it was a non-stop party!

They sang Wild Heart with a really lovely acoustic intro from Brad Simpson on piano and it was so, so beautiful! If I went to the concert and that was the only song they sang it would have been good enough for me!

It was really refreshing to see Tristan Evans come out from behind his drums when they sang Volcano as I always feel sorry for him as he’s always stuck at the back! Not only did Tristan come out from behind his drums but there was fire and it was so cool! The set was just amazing through and through, there was fire; smoke; sparks; confetti, the stage was extended into a little runway so they could come down and people like me could see them better! Anything you can think of they probably had!

One of my favourite parts of gigs is when people sing soft, slow songs and everyone gets out their lights and sways to the music, it is truly one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen and I say this every time I go to a concert but that’s because it continues to be true, it’s truly mesmerising!

Brad sang a really lovely song called Stay, it was really beautiful and it was just him and a guitar and for the first time in the entire gig everything was completely silent, everyone was moving as one and swaying to the music and it was amazing! I love Brad’s voice so much so to be able to hear him sing like that in complete silence from the audience was a truly great moment!

It was really admirable seeing bassist Connor Ball performing enthusiastically and energetically given that he’d recently had surgery on his knee! It was very impressive and it didn’t seem to affect his ability to give an absolutely great performance!

I was slightly disappointed when they sang covers firstly because I was there to hear them sing their own songs and although I understand they do it because when they started they were just a bunch of kids singing covers on YouTube but I feel like continuing to sing covers because it’s how you started out is trying to live in the past and actually all their songs were better than the covers they sang, I also felt like the medley of covers they did was slightly messy and hard to hear.

I was also disappointed when instead of singing Oh Cecilia (Breaking My Heart) themselves (which is a song I really truly love!) they got some random band I had never heard of called New Hope Club to perform it in the middle of their set… I mean, they weren’t bad but they also weren’t The Vamps you know?

One of the highlights of the concert was when The Vamps sang Last Night as it was a song that was really energetic and I think it was the song that got the audience the most excited!

Their encore songs were Stolen Moments and Wake Up. I really, really love Stolen Moments and seeing them perform it live was really something special especially when you include the swaying audience with their lights! When they sang Wake Up there was this massive V covered in flames at the back of the stage and it was really cool although I did think Tristan was going to end up setting fire to himself as he was playing drums right in front of it! Wake Up was definitely one of the highlights of the concert because the audience went crazy and it was performed really well and there was confetti everywhere and there were sparks and smoke and it was the perfect end to an already amazing concert!

I was really, really sad when the concert was over as it was such an amazing night! If you’re a Vampette or Vampion I really think you would enjoy seeing them live! Their better than you ever imagine they’re going to be and every concert they just get better and better!

5/5 stars! One of the highlights of my year so far!

IMG-20160402-00012IMG-20160402-00014IMG-20160402-00015IMG-20160402-00019IMG-20160402-00020IMG-20160402-00024

 

 

 

 

Nowhere Boy – Film Review

Duration: 1 hr 38 mins

Rating: 15

Release Date(UK): 25 December 2009

Genre: Music, biography, drama,

Director: Sam Taylor-Wood

Cast: Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Kristin Scott Thomas, Anne- Marie Duff,  Josh Bolt, Thomas Brodie Sangster, Sam Bell…

Description: A biographical film about John Lennon when he was 17-years-old and living in Liverpool. He had a complicated relationship with his Aunt Mimi and an even more complicated relationship with his mother, Julia. But he soon discovers he has a love and talent for music and decides to start a band – but first he’s got to find some members, that’s when he meets Paul – they don’t start off great but eventually become close friends and the band is formed.

My Thoughts: I don’t really like The Beatles (Don’t hate me!) but I watched this film anyway, just ’cause, why not? Also, I thought it would be an interesting thing to review as I know how successful they are/were and I find it interesting to learn about the past of people whether they’re actors, singers, writers etc. and whether I like them or not. I just have a general interest in people and how they live their lives (Although I don’t have any interest in actual history; wars, kings, queens etc.) and I found this film really insightful and no one can say John Lennon didn’t live a dramatic life and although it made me really sad to think that he had a life that depressing at such a young age it did make for a dramatic and gripping film. It also made me very grateful for the family I’ve got.

The cast for this film was really good, they were all really talented and gave really convincing performances. Even people with very minor parts you could see that they gave it everything they’ve got and it’s probably because they knew they were making a film about one of the most successful men ever, so you probably really felt the pressure. Anne-Marie Duff (Julia, John’s mum.) and Kristin Scott Thomas (Mimi, John’s Aunt) were both really good in their roles and they worked really well together when they were in scenes together and even better when they were apart because you could really see how different both their personalities were and how complicated and stressful it must have been for John having the two of them clash like that. Aaron Taylor-Johnson (John Lennon) did his part really well and he could give convincing performances in all kinds of emotional states. Thomas Brodie-Sangster, although he played Paul McCartney, had a slightly minor role (he only appeared about halfway through), but his part got slightly larger as the film got closer to the end. But as always Thomas was absolutely incredible in his role, he gave a really convincing performance – full of emotion when needed – and it was really entertaining to watch him on screen. And the chemistry between him and Aaron was really good and whether they actually got on in real life or not it didn’t matter because on screen they worked really well with each other and it was really great to see them perform together.

I found myself confused through some of the film and I understand that in some ways that was because John himself was confused, he wasn’t clear on how he’d ended up in the situation he was in and he felt betrayed by his mother and angry at his aunt and at the entire world around him and I feel like we were just kind of thrown into the 17-year-old life of John Lennon without explaining anything (luckily I’d wikipediaed John briefly before watching the film) and I feel like yes, some people watching the film are most likely massive Beatles fans but some people – like me – have no prior knowledge of the Beatles at all other than knowing their one of the most famous bands ever and probably knowing a few of their songs. So I feel like a bit of explanation might have been good at the start but it’s okay because close to the end of the film there was a really dramatic and depressing scene in which quite a lot of it was explained and then it all made sense.

I would suggest watching this film if you A) have an interest in The Beatles, B) you have an interest in any people in general (like me), C) You like any of the actors/actresses, D) you just want to watch the film.

4.5/5 stars.

Warnings: Alcohol, smoking, swearing, some sexual scenes, mention of masturbation, a few scenes of violence, some scenes may be disturbing or upsetting. For full details click the link to the IMDb Parental Guide: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1266029/parentalguide?ref_=tt_stry_pg

Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the film and cast click the link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1266029/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Other Information: The Beatles were formed in Liverpool in 1960 and broke up in 1970. The members were John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr. John Lennon got shot and murdered in December  1980 and George Harrison died of lung cancer in November 2001. Paul McCartney is now 73 and Ringo Starr is 75. The Beatles released 12 albums, 13 EP’s and 22 singles in their time as a band. They’ve won 3 Brit awards and 10 Grammy awards.

Actors from the film have gone on to appear in things such as Game Of Thrones, Avengers: Age Of Ultron, The Maze Runner, Before I Go To Sleep, Kick-ass, Suffragette (2015), Wolfhall (Adaptation of the book by Hilary Mantel) and Godzilla (2014).

The Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials – Film Review

Duration: 2hr 12min

Rating: 12

Release Date(UK): 10 September 2015

Genre: Action, Sci-fi, Thriller, Young Adult,

Director: Wes Ball

Cast: Dylan O’Brien, Ki Hong Lee, Thomas Brodie Sangster, Kaya Scodelario, Rosa Salazar, Giancarlo Esposito, Dexter Darden, Alexander Flores…

Description: Thomas and the Gladers have escaped from the maze, they think that everything will get better now, that they will be safe – they’re wrong. Thomas and the others find themselves in more danger than they have ever been in before and it’s not too long before they find themselves missing the safety of the maze.

My Thoughts: I remember when Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials first came out in cinemas back in September and seeing posters for it on all the buses and being really excited and thinking I must read and watch the first one so I could go and see the second one in cinemas… obviously that never happened and I only saw the first Maze Runner film pretty recently but then I was excited for the DVD release and there’s a whole long story that goes with obtaining it, but I’ll save you the time and just get to the review (I promise it didn’t involve anything illegal!)

I’ve now seen it three times, once with a group of friends, secondly with my sister and thirdly on my own just ’cause, I’m kind of obsessed. Also, I always like watching films based on books twice because the first time I spend all my time comparing it to the book and the second time I can think of it more as a film and think of it like that rather than comparing it to the words of the book.

The first time I saw this film – to be honest – I didn’t think it was all that great, I thought it didn’t follow the storyline of the book at all and if I didn’t know what film I was watching and if it didn’t have the exact same cast I wouldn’t have been able to connect it to The Maze Runner at all. I also felt like it was a bit too crowded with pointless action scenes obviously only there for entertainment purposes and not really relevant to the plot, and it was complicated keeping up with what was going on. There were also a few scenes in which everything was happening so fast I didn’t really know what was happening to which characters or whether they were dead or alive. Although, to be honest there was so much talk going on when my friends were over it could have played a part in the complicatedness of the film.

Another thing that disappointed me was when I read the book I was so excited to see some of the stuff on the big screen, I remember reading the book and thinking “This is going to look incredible in the film”… and then it just never happened. But they’ve kind of merged the last two films together so hopefully those scenes will happen in the last film.

However, the second time I had almost a completely different perspective on it. I still thought that they didn’t really follow the storyline of the book in any way, shape or form except like two scenes but they still weren’t completely to the book and I know that they have to make a few changes due to films being complicated to make and it never being too complicated to write words down on a page but I still feel like they could have done more stuff from the book than they did, I didn’t think it seemed too complicated.

Another thing I didn’t like was how they included some of the stuff from the third book in the second film because now I’m worried they’re going to run out of content for the third film. Another thing is, I’m slightly concerned how they’re going to make some of the really major things that happen in the book (and they will presumably include in the film) happen in the film due to the changes they’ve already made, as it won’t make sense if the things that happen, happen the same way they did in the book.

Although I have grown to love the characters over the course of the books and the first movie (and the actors too!), I didn’t feel like this film really developed they’re characters in any way. I feel like relationship wise they’re characters didn’t grow closer together and we didn’t learn anything more about them (I know they’re supposed to have lost their memories but I still feel like a development in the personalities would have been nice.). I watched the deleted scenes after watching the film and one of the scenes which was deleted was a scene between Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) and Newt (Thomas Brodie Sangster) sitting around a fire and I feel like the conversation they have is really meaningful and the fact that they have that conversation at all really showed you how close they are as friends and some of the stuff Newt says really makes you understand how he works psychologically I think and I was really sad when I watched the deleted scenes because I feel like adding that scene into the film would have made a huge difference in the overall quality of the film, but oh well… it’s too late now.

There was this really stupid scene which really annoyed me in which we saw Thomas washing his face at a sink in the middle of the night when everyone was asleep and then it cut to a completely different scene and we didn’t even see him walk away from the sink and it especially annoyed me once I’d seen the deleted scenes because in the time it took to show us that pointless scene we could have seen the scene around the fire between Thomas and Newt.

I feel like there wasn’t enough emotion in some of the scenes and I don’t think it was the actors’ fault because all of the actors are really, really talented! It has such an amazing cast! But I think the scenes just weren’t set up in a way that made it emotional enough and I think a film like this needs a bit of emotion, because you need to be able to connect to a film like this because it’s so surreal and unlike anything people can properly imagine there needs to be emotion so the audience can connect properly.

Before ending this review I would just like to say that the cast and crew of both The Maze Runner and The Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are absolutely amazing and they’re work is just incredible! If someone came and told me that I had the ability to re-choose the cast of The Maze Runner and I could literally choose any actors anywhere, nothing was an issue I would honestly truly pick the same cast, because they all work so well together and they make the film what it is and without that cast and Wes as Director I don’t know what would happen, but I have honest belief that it wouldn’t be the same if any single one of the cast member had been someone else.

I think overall it was a really decent film and I will watch it time and time again presumably because I love the trilogy and I love the actors and the chemistry between them all in the films but I don’t feel it was an accurate representation of the book and so unfortunately I’m going to have to give it 4.5/5 stars. Although I really want to give it five.

Warnings: Alcohol, kissing, swearing and violence all feature. Some scenes may scare or upset. For full details please click the link to the IMDb Parental Guide: Scorch Trials Parental Guide

Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the cast and film click the link: The Scorch Trials Trailer And Info (IMDb)

Other Information: The Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials is the sequel to The Maze Runner it is a 20th Century Fox Production and is based of the trilogy by James Dashner.

Exams And A Broken Computer

Hi Followers!

I hope you are all well and settling nicely into the new year! I would love to know what exciting things you have achieved already and what things you hope to achieve in the coming months!? One of the things I hope to achieve is a better study schedule as I am SO far behind right now! Also, would be to write more reviews, but unfortunately lots of study time and lots of reviewing writing time don’t really fit together well, as not only do I have to write the reviews I have to watch, read or attend the event to be able to write a review – which can be very time consuming sometimes. However, I do have quite a few reviews stored in my brain that I just need to get written done on here but that still might take some time, but don’t worry I haven’t forgotten about my blog and all you fantastic people that follow me!

Another thing other than exams (yes, I’m still at that age where exams are a thing that dominate my entire life!) is that my main laptop which is brand new has been sent off for repair due to a broken headphone socket and that should be back this week (hopefully!) but that means that I’ve had to use my really old Apple iBook G4, which works fine for what I need it to and it’s a really great computer I’m just much more comfortable and familiar with my usual HP and it works faster. Also, as we all know it’s the new year and in the first few months everyone is kind of getting themselves together and trying to achieve some positive changes in their lives and there are things to do and you’re much more motivated to do things that you don’t normally do, and it’s really weird because I don’t really understand why it’s a thing to be more motivated at the start of a new year because time doesn’t really exist – calenders and clocks are just things that humans have made up to make life more manageable but sometimes I wish they didn’t because imagine how stress free a life with no calender and no clock would be? No time limit to do something ever, but I understand how in our current society calenders and clocks are completely necessary.

I understand if you have got bored with my blog by now and want to click the unfollow button, if I were you I probably would have done that ages ago but I promise there are more reviews coming! I really love writing reviews for you guys and it makes me really sad when I don’t have the time!

As an attempt to keep you interested here’s a list of all the things I have yet to review or the things that I am going to be watching/attending in the coming few weeks and then reviewing:

  • Phantom Halo (Film Review)
  • Albatross (Film Review)
  • Love Actually (Film Review)
  • Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (Film Review)
  • Nowhere Boy (Film Review)
  • The Vamps UK Arena Tour 2016 (Concert Review – coming April)

So, there’s the list! I can’t tell you when you’ll actually get the reviews of these as I need to write them up and maybe even re-watch a few of the things I mentioned but I will be reviewing them and hopefully very soon! Oh and by the way, if you think you recognize a theme with the list of films you’re probably imagining it… there is no connection between any of them whatsoever… 😉

 

A Post Dedicated To Richard Wisker

Okay, so today is the 1st of February which means not only is it a new month it is also one of my huge inspirations birthday.

Richard Wisker is my inspiration for so many reasons, I’ve even done coursework on him before… I decided two years ago that I wanted to be an actor and I’m working towards it slowly and in those two years Richard Wisker has been there to show me that everyone can succeed if they want to, all you need is hard work and dedication and I’ve spent many hours admiring Richard Wisker’s acting and how dedicated he is to his work and everyone that has ever worked with him and commented about it says he’s a pleasure to work with and always turns up really energised and that’s how I want people to see me too, when I have co-stars and Directors I want everyone to think that I’m as dedicated and energised as Richard Wisker is.

Also, the way he interacts with his fans from what I’ve seen and from what fans say about him is how I want to interact with any future fans I may have (this is starting to sound really big-headed, but I promise it’s not about me!), all his fans always meet him and have a really positive experience with it and unfortunately the event I was supposed to meet him at was cancelled and so I can’t give you insider knowledge to what he’s like when meeting fans.

He can always cheer me up when I’m feeling stressed or upset and not just anybody can do that for a person, you know? You have to be a certain kind of person to be able to cheer up a person who doesn’t even know you.

Richard Wisker has been acting since he was thirteen and although I’m older than thirteen it’s inspiring to me that he started so young and ended up with a massive role in one of the biggest children’s TV programmes, also a TV programme that I feel has probably shaped part of who I am today, Tracy Beaker Returns. Which is a really great and insightful programme that really helps educate children in the way of the world outside of the academic curriculum and it’s what I first saw Richard Wisker in and Richard’s character Liam was a really interesting character and Richard played him really well.

I also think that Richard Wisker is really good at playing any role to the fullest of his ability within that genre no matter what the character or how silly the scene and I find that sometimes I get embarrassed when I’m playing a strange character or in a weird and silly scene but I feel like Richard is really good at just convincing you it’s completely normal and natural and that’s another thing that I find inspiring, the ability not to get embarrassed by the things that you have to do as an actor.

Not only is Richard a great actor he also manages to juggle his career as an actor with making music which he loves to do and I like that his career doesn’t consume him and that he manages to find time to do the things he’s really passionate about as I am passionate about many things and I wouldn’t want to have to stop doing them because I became an actor.

And the other thing I’m going to mention in this post is how down-to-earth he seems and although he’s not the most successful person in the world someone who has been on the TV can occasionally become really big-headed and full of themselves and think they’re really impressive and everyone should be jealous of them etc. but Richard just seems like a normal guy that you would go to school with or work with and I like that he just seems normal and he just does what comes naturally to him and what he enjoys without trying to impress others and without being big-headed.

I am so grateful for Richard Wisker and everything that he has done and continues to do for me without even being aware that he’s doing it and I hope he has a really great 21st Birthday!!

If you are also a fan of Richard Wisker and would like to wish him a Happy Birthday please feel free to leave a comment below! 🙂

Please go and check Richard Wisker out on Twitter his username is @RichardWisker4

Or you can check him out on Instagram: @RichardWisker

Or you can look at his Facebook page: RichardWiskerOffic (This is the official Facebook page of Richard Wisker and any others are fake.)

You can also go and by his debut movie Friday Download Presents: Up All Night on Amazon. (You can check out my review of the film here).

 

The Big Short – Film Review

Duration: 2 hrs 10 mins

Rating: 15

Release Date(UK): 22 January 2016

Genre: Biography, drama,

Director: Adam McKay

Cast: Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Finn Wittrock, John Magaro, Christian Bale, Brad Pitt…

Description: A biographical film about the financial crisis of 2007-2008 which resulted in people getting evicted from their homes, foreclosures and prolonged unemployment. This films follows the events leading up to the collapse and the four people in high-finance that predicted the event years before it actually happened.

My Thoughts: I went to see this film for two reasons (Haha! I originally wrote for two years… I did not see this film for two years! Although it felt like it at times…). Reason #1: I like watching films about real-life things that have really highly changed society and the world for whatever reason and films about things that will highly change the society or the world (such as climate change or the further development of technology etc.) anyway, so I went to see this film because I thought it would be really insightful and I hadn’t previously been aware of the banking crisis of 2007-08. Reason #2: I went to see it is because it had Christian Bale in it, and he’s a really big inspiration to me. The other members of the cast were really good as well.

After going to see this film for the insight into the collapse I didn’t understand it at all! I was so confused the whole way through the film and although I know they were all bankers they could have simplified it slightly and made it easier to understand for those of us unfortunate enough not to understand the complicated world of finance.

They did have a few moments when they ‘paused’ the film of sorts and gave you a little explanation of what was going on but I found it even more annoying than if they hadn’t said anything at all! I would rather not understand it the whole way through than have this annoying explanation given to you by people that aren’t even in the film to begin with, for example there was one time when it was Selena Gomez who was playing poker (or something along those lines) and she randomly started explaining it to us and it was really weird and a bizarre way of filming a film(although Selena Gomez did make the most sense out of the film out of all of them) and the other example (which was shocking!) was a scene in which this random blonde woman was in a bubble bath sipping champagne (we’d never seen her before and never saw her again) and she was explaining the story to us and it was okay that she was explaining the story to you, if that’s how they wanted to film it but why the bubble bath?! They wouldn’t have done that with a guy would they? If they had a guy say the exact same lines that the woman said they would not have put him in a bubble bath and have him sip champagne so why do it with the woman?! It’s so freakin’ sexist and it made me really annoyed throughout the whole film like how are people so blind to the fact that it’s sexist to have a female in a bubble bath sipping champagne explaining the complicated world of banking, I am not going to understand the information more if she is in a bubble bath so why do it? And if they’re not blind to the fact that it’s sexist why do they think it’s exceptable? Urgh!

Anyway… moving on.

There were a few other weird filming choices, for instance they had a thing for zooming into someone’s face and making you stare at a cinema screen full of someone’s mouth or their eyes and it was really weird and didn’t really add anything to the film. Also, there was a part of the story that they added in that I didn’t think was necessary and they didn’t properly continue it on throughout the rest of the film, let me explain – there was a small part of the film in which Christian Bale’s character Micheal Burry explained how he had always felt socially awkward and a bit of an outsider and this is because he lost one of his eyes in a childhood illness and he now has a glass one and then it showed you an example of an awkward situation in which he was at school playing a football game and someone pushes him over and his glass eye falls out and everyone stares at him and laughs but then whenever you saw Christian Bale I paid particular attention to his eyes and neither of them looked glass (obviously because neither of them are) but I feel like they had spent the time putting that into the story so they should have done something that made it look like Christian could have a glass eye and if that wasn’t possible why put that element of his character into the story at all?

There were a lot of moments when the screen/scene was really blurry and I thought it was a real shame, there were a lot of moments in which it happened and I don’t know whether it was a stylistic choice or whether it accidentally ended up like that and they didn’t think it was worth going back and re-filming it, or it could even have been the cinema screen I don’t know but it was annoying.

Don’t be fooled by the top billing actors for the film because Christian Bale and Brad Pitt are billed in the top four and they both feature in the film for like twenty minutes and the reason why this bothered me is because there were some people that had much bigger roles and weren’t billed in the top and it’s insulting to them because they have a much bigger part than Christian or Brad but I think because Christian and Brad have already lead really successful careers they’re being billed at the top to convince people to come and see it but I feel like it’s unfair to the more main cast.

Although I didn’t understand the film I think everyone was really good acting wise, they all seemed really dedicated to the film and I felt like it meant a lot to them being in the film and that really came through in the scenes (although they are actors so… yeah, they’re supposed to be good performers), but I think you can really tell even if someone’s a good actor if they’re really dedicated to something. And I could really tell with some of the cast members that they were.

I think if you actually understood it (which I didn’t and I was also the only young person in the cinema, everyone else was like 60-70… :/) and it was the kind of style that you like then this would be a really enjoyable film full of great actors! But I didn’t understand it and I didn’t like the style of it but it’s still in cinemas so if it takes your fancy go and see it!

I’m not going to give this film a star rating due to the fact that I didn’t properly understand the plot and therefore feel like I can’t give it an accurate review.

If you’ve seen this film and would like to share your own thoughts please feel free to leave them in the comments section below this post!

If you’ve reviewed this film yourself on your own blog then please feel free to leave a link and I’ll make sure to check it out!

Warnings: Alcohol consumption, swearing, some nudity. For full details please click the link to the IMDb Parental Guide: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1596363/parentalguide?ref_=tt_stry_pg

Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the film and cast please click the link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1596363/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Other Information: The Big Short is a film about the financial crisis of 2007-08, in which loads of people were left homeless and unemployed. This financial crisis which threatened the collapse of large financial institutions came about by banks not properly doing their jobs when it came to lending people mortgage money and therefore they ended up lending people money for houses they couldn’t afford and then having to take the houses away from the people after they had failed to pay back the mortgage in time, this not only resulted in people being homeless and unemployed but also resulted in banks losing loads of money. For more details on the financial crisis of 2007-08 please click the link to the Wikipedia page about it: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Financial_crisis_of_2007%E2%80%9308

The Maze Runner – Film Review

Duration: 1 hr 53 mins

Rating: 12

Genre: Action, mystery, sci-fi, young adult,

Director: Wes Ball

Cast: Dylan O’Brien, Ki Hong Lee, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Kaya Scodelario, Ami Ameen, Blake Cooper, Will Poulter…

Description: When a teenager wakes up in complete darkness he has no idea where he is, no idea of anything actually. He doesn’t know who he is, he doesn’t know how old he is, he doesn’t know who his parents are, he doesn’t even remember his name. Suddenly he is a member of a very tiny community consisting only of boys, and the worst part is there is no escape. They live in a tiny piece of land and the only thing surrounding them for miles is a huge maze – the only way to escape is through the maze and people have been trying for years. Not only that but there are strange creatures that live within the maze and anyone that’s still in there when night comes… never make it back out.

My Thoughts: I absolutely loved the book of The Maze Runner, (You can read my review of the book here) it was really good and so tense and I felt like it was kind of original and it was a really strong idea for a YA book and of course, it’s become really successful and I really think it deserves that success.

There are quite a few negative things to say about this film… they changed some really key elements of the book in the film, they completely changed the order of things and some of the things that happened, happened in a completely different way (I can’t properly explain what I mean without giving the book away but if you’ve read the book and see the film you’ll understand, if you haven’t but do then you’ll also understand. But for those of you that haven’t read the book and haven’t seen the film or have seen the film but haven’t read the book you’ll just have to be confused… sorry.) and I feel like they actually made it harder for themselves making the changes to the story that they did. And it made the story not quite as good as the book and not as engaging or edge-of-the-seat like. But still, that being said I was on the edge of my seat the whole time… haha!

It was slightly sexist (and I don’t mean because there was only one girl) because when Teresa (Kaya Scodelario) comes into it she’s hiding on top of this wooden structure throwing rocks at all the boys below asking to be left alone. Like, I hate to break it to you… but girls don’t behave like this, we do not hide and throw things at people when we want some quiet time, we either find a quiet private place or we ask politely to please be left alone, if the politeness doesn’t work we may ask in a more serious tone. Anyway… it was sexist for that reason.

I feel like if you looked passed all of the changes in the story and all of the bits left out and watched it either as if a book of it had never existed or you watch it as if you haven’t read the book (which you might not  have done), therefore making it basically as if the book didn’t exist then it was a really good film! Amazing, even.

I really loved the cast and characters; Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) is definitely one of the best characters and I love the mystery behind him, obviously because he doesn’t remember anything he’s full of mystery and also the ambition of the guy, I really like how he reacts to the situation and I feel like if I were in his situation I would behave a lot like he does. Minho (Ki Hong Lee) is another really great character, I feel like he’s kind of the badass of the group but a good badass rather than an annoying evil one. He’s like the strong one who everyone looks up to and he puts on a strong face when actually he’s just as terrified as everyone else. And then Newt (Thomas Brodie-Sangster), he’s the other character that particularly stands out. Being the leader I always feel like he’s kind of sensible and always knows what to do but he’s kind and fun at the same time. He’s the kind of person I would want to hang out with if I were to ever encounter someone like him. I just feel like there’s a really good selection of characters with a really big range of characteristics and I really like that in a film or book, but I do wish they had made Teresa a bit more like she is in the book rather than a pathetic, hormonal/emotional teenage girl who can’t behave sensibly.

I love the thrill of films like this and even though you know nothing seriously bad is ever going to happen to the main characters (especially when you’ve seen the trailer for the second one) but at the same time you can’t help feeling nervous the whole way through the film because you’re worried something bad is going to happen. I think the thing with me is, I really get into the story and it’s like reality and the TV blend together until I’m living in the film and I feel like it’s me in the life and death situation rather than whoever’s on the screen at that moment and I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing but it certainly improves my TV experience I feel.

I really do suggest watching this film, whether you’ve read the book or not read the book, whether you want to read or see the film – just do it anyway. Seriously, it’s a great film and when it ends you’ll be desperate for more (I was so desperate I watched it again only about four days after watching it the first time… :/)

5/5 stars. And I know I said it missed out loads of important details but I can get past that.

If you’ve seen this film and would like to share your thoughts please leave them in the comments below. If you’ve written your own review of the film feel free to leave a link and I’ll make sure to check it out!

If you’ve read the book please go over to my book review and post your thoughts there. (Or if you’ve got your own review of the book you can leave a link, which I would love to check out!)

If you haven’t read the book or seen the film but you’re planning to then remember this review and come back and leave your comments then.

 Warnings: Some violent scenes, a few scenes featuring swearing (a couple of made up swear words but it’s obvious what they mean.), scenes of threat, some scenes may be upsetting to younger audiences. For Full details click the link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1790864/parentalguide?ref_=tt_stry_pg

Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the film and cast please click the link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1790864/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Other Information: The Maze Runner is based off the first book in a series written by James Dashner. The second film in the series is out on DVD 1st February 2016.

Where She Went – Book Review

Title: Where She Went

Author: Gayle Forman

Length: 260 pages

Genre: Romance, drama, YA Fiction, Music,

Release Date: 26 April 2012

Publisher: Totally Random Books

Description: It’s been three years since Mia and Adam where in the emergency room the day that Mia’s entire family died. Adam’s band has got insanely successful and he’s now touring, doing interviews and recording albums. Mia’s at Julliard and also on the road to success. They loved each other and then it ended, but when they meet back up again three years later they realise maybe the things that happened three years ago were all a mistake, maybe they’re not ready to be without each other just yet.

My Thoughts: I was surprised when Where She Went was from Adam’s point of view, and I really liked it to be honest, I felt like it was really unique. I know that some people do books where every chapter is from a different perspective but it still changes throughout the book and this was just from Adam’s point of view and I really liked it, it was really nice getting to know Adam a bit more, I also really love books about rock stars!

I thought Gayle Forman had come up with a really great story and the way she developed the story in Where She Went from If I Stay was really good, I liked how it was three years in the future and as the story developed you learnt what happened in the past as the book went on.

I think Mia and Adam are really great characters, Gayle Forman’s characterisation is really good, Mia and Adam are so amazing as a couple and they’re great when they’re not together (but less so). One of the things – for me – that makes a book really good, and I mean like really good is when you want the characters in the book to be your friends and I felt like that when I was reading Where She Went, I wanted these people to be my best friends, I wanted to be able to say “Mia and Adam are my best friends”, I wanted to log onto Twitter and be able to follow them, and to be able to create characters that make you feel like that is honestly a gift, Gayle Forman is a really gifted writer to be able to make you feel like that towards the characters she creates and I’m just so glad she took the time to share these characters with us!

I haven’t read very many books about people who are musical and I often think it shouldn’t work because you can’t make someone imagine music by using words and it’s much better to have a film about people that are musicians rather than books because it’s just easier to imagine, in fact someone I know was surprised when they found out that the film Pitch Perfect was based on a book because she didn’t understand how you could write a book about music and I sort of see what she meant but Where She Went really worked, every chapter started with the lyrics off Shooting Star’s (Adam’s band) new album and it was really clever because it made you understand the psychology of Adam’s character a little more and the lyrics were so good, they were amazing and every time I read the lyrics I wanted to look the album up online and listen to it because it was so amazing and so emotional and I just don’t know how Gayle Forman has done it, created a book so emotional and so good and done all of the most impressive things in writing fiction and done them phenomenally well!

When I started reading If I Stay (You can read my review here) and found out there was a sequel, I though “There’s no way that there can be a sequel that will actually be good, it just won’t work – not with the storyline of this book.” and the sequel was just as good, maybe even better! I was so impressed with it! And I feel like it would still make sense if you read it without reading If I Stay which was good.

If you’ve read If I Stay or watched the film I would really suggest reading this book because it’s so great, and if you’ve missed Mia and Adam then this is definitely a way to make you not miss them anymore because it’s really amazing! I didn’t even realise how much I liked the book until I started properly thinking about it whilst writing this review…

5/5 stars

If you’ve read this book and would like to agree or disagree with what I’ve said then please feel free to leave a comment, I would love to read them!

If you’ve read If I Stay then please feel free to leave your comments on the book here.

If you’ve got your own review of Where She Went on your own blog then please feel free to leave a link to the post and I’ll make sure to read it (and if you’ve got your own review of If I Stay then go over to my review and post a link to your review there).

And if you haven’t read Where She Went but you’re planning to then remember this review and come back and leave your comment then.

Other Books In Series: If I Stay (Book one).

Other Books By The Author: You Can’t Get There From Here, Sisters In Sanity, Just One Year, Just One Day, I Was Here.

Author’s Website: http://gayleforman.com/