Albatross – Film Review

Duration: 1hr 30min

Rating: 15

Release Date(UK): 14 October 2011 

Genre: Drama

Director: Niall MacCormick

Cast: Jessica Brown Findlay, Felicity Jones, Sebastian Koch, Julia Ormond, Katie Overd, Peter Vaughan…

Description: Emelia is a troubled young woman who tries to remain positive, Beth is a study nerd working hard to get into Oxford. When Emelia starts working for Beth’s parents in their hotel, they quickly become friends but they live in separate worlds. Will Emelia’s influence affect Beth’s future? And will the secrets she keeps destroy their relationship?

My Thoughts: I’ve watched this film twice now. The first time I didn’t expect all that much from it, but it seemed non-complicated, easy to watch and a feel good film with no unexpected surprises but as the film went on I realised that actually it was a really great film with really relatable characters and talented actors. The second time I watched it, it was because I had enjoyed it so much the first time that I really wanted to watch it again. Unfortunately it has now gone off Netflix so I haven’t been able to watch it a third time.

There were some really unnecessary and weird moments that slightly affected the quality of the film but I could get passed them because the great moments truly were great. It was also really funny but could be really sad and serious at other times and it was a perfect balance of the two.

I really loved Emelia and Beth. Their characters are really relatable and I think they’re played really well and their relationship is really great and it’s just a great inspiring film about growing up and choosing your own path no matter what people think.

If you take apart the film bit by bit, scene by scene you realise that actually there isn’t a whole lot of a storyline but that doesn’t even matter because it’s just a feel good film about two people from completely different worlds that become friends and both step out of their comfort zones in ways they never could have expected. And strangely films and books about nothing more complicated than normal life are my favourites, because they don’t lie, they portray the real life and I think that’s the most valuable form of art.

This has now become one of my favourite films and I really suggest you go and watch it!

5/5 stars.

If you’ve seen this film please feel free to leave your thoughts about it (negative or positive) below! I would be really interest to know what you think!

Warnings: Swearing, drug taking, alcohol consumption, smoking, sex scenes, sex references and one scene of masturbation.

Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the film and cast please click the link – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1541149/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Leave a Reply

