The Maze Runner – Film Review

Duration: 1 hr 53 mins

Rating: 12

Genre: Action, mystery, sci-fi, young adult,

Director: Wes Ball

Cast: Dylan O’Brien, Ki Hong Lee, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Kaya Scodelario, Ami Ameen, Blake Cooper, Will Poulter…

Description: When a teenager wakes up in complete darkness he has no idea where he is, no idea of anything actually. He doesn’t know who he is, he doesn’t know how old he is, he doesn’t know who his parents are, he doesn’t even remember his name. Suddenly he is a member of a very tiny community consisting only of boys, and the worst part is there is no escape. They live in a tiny piece of land and the only thing surrounding them for miles is a huge maze – the only way to escape is through the maze and people have been trying for years. Not only that but there are strange creatures that live within the maze and anyone that’s still in there when night comes… never make it back out.

My Thoughts: I absolutely loved the book of The Maze Runner, (You can read my review of the book here) it was really good and so tense and I felt like it was kind of original and it was a really strong idea for a YA book and of course, it’s become really successful and I really think it deserves that success.

There are quite a few negative things to say about this film… they changed some really key elements of the book in the film, they completely changed the order of things and some of the things that happened, happened in a completely different way (I can’t properly explain what I mean without giving the book away but if you’ve read the book and see the film you’ll understand, if you haven’t but do then you’ll also understand. But for those of you that haven’t read the book and haven’t seen the film or have seen the film but haven’t read the book you’ll just have to be confused… sorry.) and I feel like they actually made it harder for themselves making the changes to the story that they did. And it made the story not quite as good as the book and not as engaging or edge-of-the-seat like. But still, that being said I was on the edge of my seat the whole time… haha!

It was slightly sexist (and I don’t mean because there was only one girl) because when Teresa (Kaya Scodelario) comes into it she’s hiding on top of this wooden structure throwing rocks at all the boys below asking to be left alone. Like, I hate to break it to you… but girls don’t behave like this, we do not hide and throw things at people when we want some quiet time, we either find a quiet private place or we ask politely to please be left alone, if the politeness doesn’t work we may ask in a more serious tone. Anyway… it was sexist for that reason.

I feel like if you looked passed all of the changes in the story and all of the bits left out and watched it either as if a book of it had never existed or you watch it as if you haven’t read the book (which you might not  have done), therefore making it basically as if the book didn’t exist then it was a really good film! Amazing, even.

I really loved the cast and characters; Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) is definitely one of the best characters and I love the mystery behind him, obviously because he doesn’t remember anything he’s full of mystery and also the ambition of the guy, I really like how he reacts to the situation and I feel like if I were in his situation I would behave a lot like he does. Minho (Ki Hong Lee) is another really great character, I feel like he’s kind of the badass of the group but a good badass rather than an annoying evil one. He’s like the strong one who everyone looks up to and he puts on a strong face when actually he’s just as terrified as everyone else. And then Newt (Thomas Brodie-Sangster), he’s the other character that particularly stands out. Being the leader I always feel like he’s kind of sensible and always knows what to do but he’s kind and fun at the same time. He’s the kind of person I would want to hang out with if I were to ever encounter someone like him. I just feel like there’s a really good selection of characters with a really big range of characteristics and I really like that in a film or book, but I do wish they had made Teresa a bit more like she is in the book rather than a pathetic, hormonal/emotional teenage girl who can’t behave sensibly.

I love the thrill of films like this and even though you know nothing seriously bad is ever going to happen to the main characters (especially when you’ve seen the trailer for the second one) but at the same time you can’t help feeling nervous the whole way through the film because you’re worried something bad is going to happen. I think the thing with me is, I really get into the story and it’s like reality and the TV blend together until I’m living in the film and I feel like it’s me in the life and death situation rather than whoever’s on the screen at that moment and I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing but it certainly improves my TV experience I feel.

I really do suggest watching this film, whether you’ve read the book or not read the book, whether you want to read or see the film – just do it anyway. Seriously, it’s a great film and when it ends you’ll be desperate for more (I was so desperate I watched it again only about four days after watching it the first time… :/)

5/5 stars. And I know I said it missed out loads of important details but I can get past that.

If you’ve seen this film and would like to share your thoughts please leave them in the comments below. If you’ve written your own review of the film feel free to leave a link and I’ll make sure to check it out!

If you’ve read the book please go over to my book review and post your thoughts there. (Or if you’ve got your own review of the book you can leave a link, which I would love to check out!)

If you haven’t read the book or seen the film but you’re planning to then remember this review and come back and leave your comments then.

 Warnings: Some violent scenes, a few scenes featuring swearing (a couple of made up swear words but it’s obvious what they mean.), scenes of threat, some scenes may be upsetting to younger audiences. For Full details click the link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1790864/parentalguide?ref_=tt_stry_pg

Trailer: To see a trailer and read more information on the film and cast please click the link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1790864/?ref_=nv_sr_1

Other Information: The Maze Runner is based off the first book in a series written by James Dashner. The second film in the series is out on DVD 1st February 2016.

One thought on “The Maze Runner – Film Review

Leave a Reply

